What is Medpay?
Prior to July 1, 2003, Colorado auto insurance policies covered medical and rehabilitation expenses from injuries sustained by individuals in an Automobile accident; regardless of fault. This coverage was built into everyone’s policy and was included in the price of the policy. However, on July 1, 2003, Colorado auto insurance law changed from “no-fault” to “at-fault”; which meant that the driver who was found to be at fault would be responsible for all medical bills incurred from the accident.
Under this new “at-fault” system, medical coverage was not included in the auto policy and so the policy rates reflected a Lower price. To supplement the absence of medical coverage a new benefit called “Medpay” (medical payments coverage) was introduced. For an additional fee, you could add $1,000-$10,000 of medical coverage to your policy. In the event of an accident, this coverage would immediately be available to you and anyone riding in your car. Ex: let’s say that you added $5,000 Medpay to your policy and you were in an accident while driving your child to school. Regardless of fault, you and your child would each instantly have $5,000 available for your medical care (emergency room, x-rays, chiropractic treatment, massage therapy, physical therapy…).
However, if you didn’t have Medpay added onto your policy, you would be personally responsible for all of your medical bills upfront and would then need to hire an attorney to go after the at-fault driver/ insurance company for reimbursement. Many Coloradoans were not properly informed about these changes and didn’t find out about Medpay until it was too late.
Any automobile insurance policy issued or renewed on or after January 1, 2009, must include a minimum of $5,000 of medical payments coverage (Medpay). This means that regardless of fault, each person in your car will immediately have $5,000 available to them to seek medical treatment for bodily injury sustained in the accident. Serious and costly injuries can result from auto accidents, but they don’t always result in immediate pain. A thorough examination by a chiropractor is a wise precaution to determine the presence or absence of musculoskeletal injuries. Under the new Medpay system, you have the right to seek treatment with a chiropractor following an accident.
Under the new Medpay laws, you are immediately entitled to receive treatment with any of our providers. That means that your chiropractic, physical therapy, massage therapy, and acupuncture services are all covered. And, these services are all available in our convenient locations. Call us at 970-663-2225 to set up an appointment today.
This information is to be used only as a guide. Report to your insurance promptly; failure to do so may affect your rights under your policy.
STOP immediately and as close to the location of the accident as possible. State law requires it.
Assist the injured check immediately for injured persons. If necessary, call 911. Do not move the injured person.
Protect the scene warn approaching vehicles with emergency flashers, reflectors, or even a flashlight.
Call an officer to notify the police or county or state law officers at once. This is the law and the official report may be helpful later. Remain at the scene until the officer arrives.
Assist the officer. Cooperate by advising the officer of the basic facts. Any statement you make may be used as an admission. You have the right to consult a lawyer as soon as possible.
Identify the other driver obtain the other driver’s name, address, phone number, and vehicle registration obtain the names, addresses, and phone numbers of any and all witnesses.
Take notes, fill out accident information form and diagram make your own written notes on all significant circumstances concerning the accident. If possible, take pictures to preserve skid marks, the position of cars, and other physical evidence that will disappear.
Inform insurance company make a complete report to your insurance company as soon as possible.